Starting Monday, Oct. 1, 2018, winter tires are mandatory for vehicles on most British Columbia highways for travel during winter months.

Drivers must equip their vehicles with winter tires if they plan to travel on certain B.C. highways in the North; in the Interior; on the South Coast, such as the Sea to Sky Highway; and on Vancouver Island, such as the Malahat and highways 4, 14 and 28.

In B.C., regulations state that an appropriate winter tire is defined as one with either the M+S or mountain/snowflake symbol and in good condition with a minimum tread depth of 3.5 millimetres. Drivers are encouraged to choose their tires based on the region and conditions in which they regularly drive.

According to the Tire and Rubber Association of Canada, approximately 60 per cent of B.C. drivers now own winter tires, compared to 38 per cent in 2014.

While winter tires are not mandatory province-wide, they are required on a majority of B.C. highways. Drivers without the proper winter tires in good condition driving on designated B.C. highways can receive a fine of $109.

Winter tire regulations end on March 31 on many highways, however, the regulations have been extended to April 30, 2019, on select mountain passes and rural highways, to account for early spring snowfall.

Also starting Oct. 1, 2018, commercial vehicle operators must carry chains and are required to use them when a mandatory chain-up is in place.

© 2019 First XV. All rights reserved.